My Ever Changing Faces continued


Looking back at all my hairstyles here’s what I’ve learned…

1. My hair line is extremely weak, pulling hairstyles like straight back plaits and especially micro braids and even chunky braids are a very very bad idea.

Here’s why: Traction Alopecia. This is caused by pressure on the hair line, a direct result of my mom’s hair loss.

The problem with a lot of african hairstyles require a lot of pulling. Braids are even worse, coupled with tight pulling is the added weight on your head.

You know like how heavy your head feels when the braids are still new? Depending on the size of your head your head you go though as many as three to four packs of hair extensions.

Now take that added weight and tie it up into a pony. Not only is it tight it also pulls, so obviously your hair line won’t survive.

Due to that simple fact, I can never ever get braids done if I want my hair line back.

2. My hair isn’t crazy about weaves either, weave hair styles often leave a small portion of your hair out inorder to blend in with your hair to achieve a more natural look.

The problem with that is, the front bit of your hair gets put through a lot of heat styling in order to keep the hair looking relaxed and flatn constant heat is a NO NO to hair, of any kind regardless of race or hair texture.

3. I actually have really beautiful hair, I totes love my hur, although I prefer it relaxed. In the past I never had problems with it growing, this is why I was never afraid to cut it. Because in a year without much care to it my hair grown to about shoulder length.

4. My hair grows much faster with proper care and nutrition.

My current regimen includes:

* a weekly deep condition, I use Organic Root Stimulator Hair mayo, if I run out I use three egg yolks, olive oil and honey, works just as well if not better.

* Twice a week I use a hot oil treatment, I’m currently using the SH’ZEN hot oil hair repair, it has jojoba and sweet almond oil as the main ingredient. Does a great job.

* Nightly I moisturise my hair line with caster oil, then wrap (the hair line only) with a small piece of plastic, this allows my pores to sweat and therefore open which there allows the caster oil to better penetrate. And it works I’ve seen new hair shoots.

*On a daily basis I take one Vitaforce Biotin Vitamin Pill once a day and then ten drops of Phyto Force Fenugreek Drops.

* I also use a water based moisturiser, I’m currently using the Motions. Works great because my hair is able to properly absorb it. To seal it, I use the Avon Advanced techniques Moroccan Argon Oil, I love love love this oil, its not at all greasy and it totally leaves ma hair shiny.

*On a monthly basis I tea rinse my hair, this helps harden my hair shaft so that it doesn’t break as aften during styling, it also helps with basically “cleaing” my scalp of all the product build up, this way pores don’t clog up.

* I’m not a fan of shampoo, so I co wash a lot. I use GLISS Schwarzkopf hair conditioner with shea butter and cashmere.

*I only use shampoo when I deep oil condition my hair with a heavy oil like caster oil, coconut or amla oil. This is normally an over night treatment, where I wear plastic over my hair and cover with a beanie hat for extra heat to allow better absorption. This I do once a month.

My daily styling,

When I’m home I hardly comb my hair, I just moisture and seal it and use my hands to style.

If I’m going out, I’ll wash it then use Organic Root Stimulator Wrapping lotion to achieve that ‘just relaxed look. Then I heat style it with a flat iron to achieve my “current” hair style (see blog entry below for that pic)

* one good tip, is to always sleep with a silk or satin scarve/doekie. This prevents hair breakage at night and manitains moisture on account that cotton pillows absorb all the moisture out your hair.

So as you can see, its an intense process and you have to really want it and be dedicated beyond just wishing you had long hair.

For me all this means my hair is growing rapidly and healthy too!

Thank God for this store/pharmacy, i buy all my hurr ish from here and sometimes clicks

Thank God for this store/pharmacy, i buy all my hurr ish from here and sometimes clicks

My Caster Oil, Coconut Oil, Olive oils, alll ma' oilz I get from Dishchem!

My Caster Oil, Coconut Oil, Olive oils, alll ma’ oilz I get from Dishchem!

This i buy from Clicks maximum price is R65

This i buy from Clicks maximum price is R65

Also mostly from clicks, maxum price R50

Also mostly from clicks, maxum price R50

I get this from my local avon lady, it cost R50

I get this from my local avon lady, it cost R50

I normally get this at dischem at about R40 each

I normally get this at dischem at about R40 each

i bought this From a friend i used to work with it cost R95.

i bought this From a friend i used to work with it cost R95.

these cost R70 maximum at dischem

these cost R70 maximum at dischem

i actually got this at pick n pay, for about R35 give or take

i actually got this at pick n pay, for about R35 give or take

and there u have it, thats my hair routine

and there u have it, thats my hair routine

you’re my sugar honey iced tea baby, thanks for reading this *kisses*

Leave a Reply

